Posted by: mysaintjohn | July 3, 2009

Paint your birthday black…

Looks like a western...

While wandering around the Hallmark store in Brunswick Square, I came across a birthday card which played “Paint it Black” by The Rolling Stones when opened.

Personally, I love Paint it Black. It’s gorgeous and dark and depressing and stirs my little morbid heart. There’s just one problem: All of those things which make me love it also make it a horrible birthday selection. Were I to hear it in a birthday card, I might start evaluating everything that was wrong with the world and my life. A less stable person might head straight for the Harbour Bridge.

Has Hallmark stumbled on a new niche market? Depressing birthday cards to send to your enemies?

Responses

  1. I love your blog. ❀ I am originally from there, and now live in Saskatchewan. I find your blog sooo hilarious and it makes me a little homesick. πŸ™‚ Say hi to my/your Saint John for me!

  2. Hi Kathy,

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Please feel free to defend me when the tourism board figures out who I am and schedules a lynching. πŸ˜‰

  3. Feel free to hide out at the store should the tourism board ever begin the pursuit. Bean Books: Saint John bloggers’ safe-haven.

    PS – love the shopping cart dialogue. I can’t walk by a shopping cart any more with a straight face.

    • Hmmm. Hiding out in a bookstore. Actually sounds rather lovely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

