Posted by: mysaintjohn | June 28, 2009

“I could be handy, lighting a fuse when your lights are gone”

What's suitable?

This well intentioned, seemingly innocent collections basket made me pause. On one hand, it’s great to be collecting reading material for Saint John nursing homes* but, on the other hand, the inclusion of the word “suitable” seems a bit patronizing – almost like protecting children.

All of which leads to one question: Will I still be reading Bitch when I’m 64?


This does have me thinking, however, that I might start donating to the local nursing homes in addition to the Saint John Free Public Library (which, to be honest, never seems very happy to see my books and which made it maddeningly difficult to participate in their “Adopt a Book” program).

As usual, bonus points if you get the pop culture reference.

Responses

  1. Are you planning to be in a nursing home when you are 64? Ambitious

    • I actually just think the idea of making it to 64 is a bit ambitious, at least in my case.

  2. Is 64 a Beatles reference or a happy coincidence?

    • It was a Beatles reference 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

