Posted by: mysaintjohn | June 18, 2009

Hanging on…

Zipity Do Dah...

If I had seen the small beetle on the windshield of my car before leaving for work, I might have taken pity on it and gently ushered it off the car and onto steadier ground. As it was, I didn’t notice the beetle until I was well into my morning commute. As soon as I did notice it, the beetle was impossible to ignore.

While the car was in motion, the small black spec was perfectly still, clinging to the glass as hard as it could. Each time I reached a red light, it would slowly begin to make it’s way across the glass, trying to find an exit route. The light would turn green, the world would start to whiz by, and the small black beetle would freeze.

This went on for four lights. As hard as it clung, at some point the beetle was swept away. I glanced in my rearview mirror, looked back to the road, and it was gone.

I hope I’m not like that beetle but some days it feels like I’m clinging to the glass while the world shifts around me. Still, all isn’t bad. Californication is playing on my iPod.

Responses

  1. So….I’m not the only one…

  2. I suppose that’s the same zipper I can remember being too small to ride. That worries me.

    • I’m pretty sure it is one and the same. Good old Campbell Amusements.


Leave a Reply

Categories

