Posted by: mysaintjohn | June 17, 2009

Casting shadows on the winter sky as you stood there, counting crows

Chalk Drawing III

I adore chalk drawings – especially in parks. When the park in question happens to be Queen’s Square, I’m one happy Saint John explorer. The above chalk drawing was brought to you by someone named Shauntel and someone named Courtney. I know this because, well, they signed their names in large, block letters.

Chalk Drawing IV

Sadly, they’ve chosen to quote an Incubus song. Suddenly all of those Counting Crow lyrics I scrawled as a preteen look deep and meaningful.

Well there’s a bird that nests inside you,
Sleeping underneath your skin,
Yeah, when you open up your wings to speak,
I wish you’d let me in.

I suddenly feel quite old. Let’s just hope that tomorrow brings them something more exciting than a free curb-side toilet in Champlain Heights.

Competeing with the porta-potties...

Responses

  1. This is hilarious.
    This was my girlfriend and I, on my favorite day of the summer ha ha.
    It was Shauntel who decided to write our names there :p


Leave a Reply

Categories

