Posted by: mysaintjohn | June 9, 2009

If you don’t prove that you’re real…

If you don't proove that you're real...

I stumbled across the word “Flirt” written on the side of an uptown church. At the time, I wonder if it was someone chiding a higher power. When you think about it, leaving all of these signs and clues without actual proof is the mother of all teases.

Douglas Adams would probably have something interesting to say about the picture and its implications. Of course, if Douglas did manage to get a message through from the great beyond, it wouldn’t be about my silly Saint John photos. It might, however, be about biscuits and the lack of decent social activities in the afterlife.*

Alas, since taking this photo, I’ve stumbled across the word in one other South End location. Perhaps it was merely a tag and not a quirky religious commentary.

* That whole paragraph makes sense if you’ve read Douglas Adams… possibly… almost probably. If you’re one of the 68.3% of Saint John residents who spend on reading (source: Macleans), head thee to a bookstore and buy a Douglas Adams book.

Responses

  1. Are you sure that doesn’t say “Flint”??? 🙂

    • Darn it! I thought it was just the way the handwriting was 😦

  2. I want to believe that it’s “Flirt”. Seems like a great imperative.

    Grant
    A former Saint Johner who is excited to be finally moving back home after 17 years in Ontario.

    • I’m choosing to believe it’s “Flirt” as well.

      I hope you don’t find it too much of a culture shock (though I’ve been told the city has improved in leaps and bounds over the past decade).

  3. I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.


Leave a Reply

Categories

